Why did I make this trip?

Pure madness, a desire for adventure, a sporting challenge... but where did this idea come from? ?

It all started 2 years ago, during a conference by Mathieu Tordert, a French adventurer, who told the story of his expedition at the age of 26 in the Antarctic Circle. What struck me most during his presentation: the story of the birth of his passion for travel. At the age of 18, during the summer holidays, he set off from Paris to Istanbul by bike, without any training or knowledge of motivation as his only driving force.

At that moment the spark of my journey was born, to take shape definitively in September 2019. It was decided, the summer of 2020 would be the beginning of my trip.

All year long I thought about it without really doing any research, then the quarantine began. During this period, my dream of adventure fell flat and was tinged with disappointment. But to my great relief, the quarantine became lighter and my project was back on track. In the meantime, I made arrangements with my company to take a month's leave. The adventure could finally begin!

The challenge of traveling alone

Going alone does not mean staying alone during your trip.

The advantage of a solo trip is that it pushes us to get out of our comfort zone, to reach out to each other and to connect more quickly. A life experience, which I can only encourage you to live. Between inspirations and motivations, I had the chance to exchange with people of all ages and backgrounds.

My first night in a youth hostel, the one that officially launched my trip, was surprising. It was going to reflect, without knowing it at the time, the kindness of the meetings that I would later make. In one evening, I chatted with people of 4 different nationalities: French, Germans, Austrians and Slovakians. The evening was rich in emotions: discoveries, varied discussions and exchanges over a beer. It is also with an Austrian that I created the beginning of my road map for the coming days. Afterwards, I met a lot of people: in campsites where groups of friends welcomed me, at the bend in the road, during my breaks, my lunches, my nights at local's houses.

My only moments of solitude were those on my bike, or lost in faraway places. Away from everything, far from the usual urban bustle, I took the time to reflect, enjoy the silence and learn more about myself.

On the whole, I was really surprised by the human quality of peoples. A feeling of kindness, curiosity and slight admiration emanated from the people who were interested in my adventure. Contrary to the general mistrust of those closest to me, I did not feel a single ounce of danger or malevolence during my trip.

Getting ready for adventure

Key steps before leaving: from learning to preparation

Such a trip is complicated to improvise; especially the first time. Two months of preparation of all kinds were necessary. But above all I spent quite a lot of time, almost a good month, discovering, listening to and learning from the experiences of my predecessors, whether via videos, blogs or podcasts.

1. Equipments

- Bike front bag
- Bike rear bag
- Fanny pack

- 1 air mattress
- 1 sleeping bag
- 1 tent

- 1 campingaz + driver
- 1 saucepan
- 1 opinel
- 1 lighter
- 1 multifunction tool

- 2 air chambers
- Patches
- 1 string
- 3 tyre changers
- 10 deers
- 1 U lock

- 1 cycling outfit (shorts + t-shirt)
- 1 fluorescent bracelet
- 2 pairs of socks
- 1 windbreaker
- 1 jacket
- 1 jumper
- 1 legging leg + top
- 1 pair of gloves
- 1 helmet
- 1 pair of flip-flop
- 1 pair of bike shoes
- 2 pants
- 1 pair of sports glasses

- 1 book (around the world in 80 days)
- 1 pen
- 1 small A4 sheet

- 1 external rechargeable battery
- 1 canon camera
- 1 Usb cable
- 1 wallet (credit card + cash)
- headphones
- 1 tote bag


- 1 sun cream
- 1 toothbrush
- 1 toothpaste
- 1 towel
- 1 organic soap
- 1 lip stick
- 1 pair of ear plugs

2. Body condition

I wasn't physically prepared at all.

My basic physical condition is correct: I am used to running and cycling. Before leaving, I only did 2 outings: one of 20km and one of 30km, to test my new bike, with the adapted equipment (bags and shoes). If you are going to ride through mountainous landscapes, you should wear running shoes. It is essential, without these adapted shoes, I would still be in the Alps at the moment.

During the first kilometres, before I completely mastered the unclipping of these shoes, I fell down quite a few times at the stop! For the anecdote, I managed to fall in front of the Vienna Opera, which I was able to appreciate from another angle...

3. Road map

The least prepared point of the trip.

I knew that I was leaving from point A to go to point B (Vienna - Paris), but I didn't really know which path I was going to take. On my first evening in Vienna I met an Austrian. He advised me a way by showing me a large green space on Google Maps, (well afterwards I was a bit disenchanted). The next day I was on my way, but this famous green space turned out to be... the Alps. A reorientation was necessary. So I set off again, in the direction of less steep slopes and gentler height differences.

After 2-3 nationals with trucks going at 110km/h, I told myself that this was clearly not a good solution. A bit lost, in the evening, by chance I slept in the house of a couple of bike travelers, who had cycled around the world on their bikes! They recommended the Bikemap application, which helped me for the rest of the trip.

4. But where to sleep?

- 4 nights wilderness camping
- 3 nights camping
- 6 nights in a youth hostel
- 3 nights in a private home
- 1 night in a hotel

In the big cities I slept in youth hostels. There were not many people with the Covid. At least it gave me a good night's sleep and a chance to rest my aching knees.

The campsite was also a good compromise to rest, have a hot shower and some electricity. Another cool experience to make is wild camping, especially in the Austrian mountains. Having done this many times with my parents during my childhood, I already knew what to look out for. If you want to do some, you have to be organised and know a few essentials: Anticipate your evening and next morning meal, camp near a water point (stream, river,...) so that you can wash yourself, do your dishes or laundry, and sit in a corner with an eastern exposure to dry your tent naturally in the early morning.

The must is to sleep in the local's home, but with the Covid people were more reluctant to welcome foreigners, especially in Germany. I was still able to experiment with nights at local people's homes thanks to a rather nice application: Warmshower.

Feedback from experience

What I enjoyed

A city that was a favourite: Salzburg. A magnificent cultural metropolis steeped in history, whose wide white streets are lulled by the classical music of the man they saw being born: the famous Mozart. Surrounded by cliffs and the Alps, in the heart of the city stands an ancient medieval fortress which allows you to appreciate all the beauty of this city. Amazed by the wide open spaces and the mountains, some places like the Austrian Alps, the Vosges or the Black Forest, were incredible moments.

Points I liked less

Germany in general. The Covid didn't help, a slightly dehumanised and strict atmosphere prevailed in the places I passed through. And mutual help was clearly not on the agenda.

Most memorable memory

I thought the highlight of my trip would be arriving in Paris, but it turned out differently. Often the moments we don't expect are the ones that leave the greatest traces in our memories.

For this trip, it was the crossing of the French border, near Colmar. At the sight of this sign, which announced my return to France. Suddenly, without warning, all the pressure I had put on myself went down. I would soon reach the end of my journey, and start to find all the little things I was beginning to miss. During this short time I experienced intense emotions that were still unknown to me. For this unique moment, I don't regret this trip in any way.

  • Fr
  • /
  • En

Pourquoi j’ai fait ce voyage ?

Pure folie, envie d’aventure, défi sportif… mais d’où est venue cette idée ?

Tout a commencé il y a 2 ans, lors d’une conférence de Mathieu Tordert, un aventurier Français, qui racontait son expédition à l’âge de 26 ans dans le cercle polaire de l’Antarctique. Ce qui m’a le plus marqué pendant sa présentation : l’histoire de la naissance de sa passion du voyage. À l’âge de ses 18 ans, pendant les grandes vacances, il a entrepris Paris-Istanbul à vélo, sans aucun entrainement, ni connaissance avec la motivation comme seul moteur.

À ce moment l’étincelle de mon voyage est née, pour prendre forme définitivement en septembre 2019. C’était décidé, l’été 2020 serait le début de mon voyage.

Durant toute l’année, j’y ai pensé sans réellement faire de recherche, puis le confinement a pointé le bout de son nez. Durant cette période, mon rêve d’aventure est tombé à plat et s’est teinté de déception. Mais à mon grand soulagement, le confinement s’est allégé, mon projet redémarrait. Dans la foulée, je me suis arrangé avec mon entreprise pour prendre un mois de congés. L’aventure allait enfin pouvoir commencer !

Le challenge du voyage solitaire

Partir seul ne veut pas dire rester seul pendant son voyage

L’avantage d’un voyage en solitaire, c’est qu’il nous pousse à sortir de notre zone de confort, à aller vers l’autre et à nouer des liens plus rapidement. Une expérience de vie, que je ne peux que vous encourager à vivre. Entre inspirations et motivations, j’ai eu la chance d’échanger avec des personnes de tous âges et tous horizons.

Ma première nuit en auberge de jeunesse, celle qui lancait officiellement mon voyage, fut surprenante. Elle allait refléter, sans le savoir à ce moment là, la bienveillance des rencontres que je ferai par la suite. En une soirée, j’ai bavardé avec des personnes de 4 nationalités différentes : Francais, Allemands, Autrichiens, et Slovaques. La soirée fut riche en émotions : des découvertes, des discussions variées et des échanges autour d’une bière. C'est aussi avec un Autrichien que j'ai créé le début de mon itinéraire pour les jours à venir. Par la suite les rencontres se sont multipliées : dans des campings où des groupes d’amis m’accueillaient, au détour des chemins, durant mes pauses, mes déjeuners, mes nuits chez l’habitant.

Mes seuls moments de solitude furent ceux sur mon vélo, ou perdu dans des lieux reculés. Loin de tout, loin de l'agitation urbaine habituelle, j’ai pris le temps de réfléchir, d’apprécier le silence et d’en apprendre plus sur moi-même.

Dans l’ensemble, j’ai été réellement surpris par la qualité humaine de mes rencontres. Un sentiment de bienveillance, de curiosité et de légère admiration émanaient des personnes qui s’intéressaient à mon aventure. Contrairement à la méfiance générale de mes proches, je n’ai ressenti aucune once de danger ou de malveillance pendant mon voyage.

Se préparer à l’aventure

Les étapes clès avant de partir : de l’apprentissage à la préparation

Un tel voyage est compliqué à improviser; surtout la première fois. Deux mois de préparation en tout genre ont été nécessaire. Mais avant tout j’ai passé pas mal de temps, presque un bon mois, à découvrir, écouter, apprendre des expériences de mes prédecesseurs, que ce soit via des vidéos, des blogs ou des podcasts.

1. Le matériel

- Sacoche avant de vélo
- Sacoche arrière de vélo
- Sacoche banane

- 1 matelas gonflable
- 1 sac de couchage
- 1 tente

- 1 campingaz + chauffeur
- 1 popotte
- 1 opinel
- 1 briquet
- 1 outils multifonction

- 2 chambres à air
- Des rustines
- 1 corde
- 3 démontés pneus
- 10 cerflex
- 1 cadenas U

- 1 tenue de vélo (cuissard + tee-shirt)
- 1 bracelet fluo
- 2 paires de chaussettes
- 1 coupe vent
- 1 veste
- 1 pull
- 1 legging jambe + haut
- 1 paires de gants
- 1 casque
- 1 paire de claquettes
- 1 paire de chaussure de vélo
- 2 caleçons
- 1 paire de lunette de sport

- 1 livre (le tour du monde en 80jours)
- 1 stylo
- 1 peu de feuille A4

- 1 batterie recharge externe
- 1 appareil photo canon
- 1 câble Usb
- 1 porte-monnaie (CB + cash)
- des écouteurs
- 1 tote bag

- 1 crème de solaire
- 1 brosse à dent
- 1 dentifrice
- 1 serviette
- 1 savon bio
- 1 stick à lèvre
- 1 paire de bouchons d'oreille

2. Condition physique

Je n'étais pas du tout préparé physiquement.

Ma condition physique de base est correcte : j’ai l’habitude de la course à pied et du vélo. Avant de partir, j’ai fais seulement 2 sorties : une de 20km et une autre de 30km, pour tester mon nouveau vélo, avec les équipements adaptés (sacoches et chaussures). Petit conseil futé: Si vous comptez passer par des paysages montagneux, prenez des chaussures de vélo de course. C’est indispensable, sans ces chaussures adaptées, je serais encore dans les Alpes à l'heure actuelle.

Durant les premiers kilomètres, avant de maitriser complètement le déclipsage de ces chaussures, je suis tombé pas mal de fois à l'arrêt ! Pour l'anecdote, j'ai réussi à tomber devant l’Opéra de Vienne que j’ai ainsi pu apprécier sous un autre angle...

3.L’itinéraire

Le point le moins préparé du voyage.

Je savais que je partais d’un point A pour aller à un point B (Vienne - Paris), mais sans réellement savoir quels chemins j’allais prendre. Durant mon premier soir à Vienne, j’ai rencontré un Autrichien. Il m’a conseillé un chemin en me montrant un grand espace vert sur Google Maps, (bon par la suite j’allais un peu déchanté). Le lendemain j’étais en route, mais ce fameux espace vert s’est averé être... les Alpes. Une réorientation était nécessaire. J’ai donc repris ma route, direction des pentes moins abruptes et des dénivelés plus souples.

Après 2-3 nationales avec des poids lourds passant à 110km/h, je me suis dit que ce n’était clairement pas une bonne solution. Un peu perdu, le soir par chance je dormais chez un couple de Cyclotrotteurs, qui avaient fait le tour du monde en vélo ! Ils m’ont conseillé l’application Bikemap, qui m’a aidée pour tout le reste du voyage.

4. Mais où dormir ?

- 4 nuits en camping sauvage
- 3 nuits en camping
- 6 nuits en auberge de jeunesse
- 3 nuits chez l'habitant
- 1 nuit à l'hôtel

Dans les grandes villes je dormais dans les auberges de jeunesse. Peu fréquentées avec le Covid, il n’y avait pas grand monde. Au moins cela m’a permis de faire des bonnes nuits et de reposer mes genoux endoloris.

Le camping était aussi un bon compromis pour se reposer, avoir une douche bien chaude et un peu d’électricité. Une autre expérience cool à faire est le camping sauvage, surtout dans les montagnes Autrichiennes. Pour en avoir fait à de nombreuses reprises avec mes parents durant mon enfance, je savais déjà ce à quoi il fallait faire attention. Si vous souhaitez en faire, il faut être organisé et connaître quelques points essentiels : Anticiper son repas du soir et du lendemain matin, camper près d’un point d’eau (ruisseau, fleuve,..) afin de pouvoir se laver, faire sa vaisselle ou sa lessive, et se poser dans un coin avec une exposition à l’Est pour sécher naturellement sa tente au petit matin.

Le must est de dormir chez l’habitant, mais en temps de Covid, les personnes étaient plus réticentes à accueillir des étrangers, notamment en Allemagne. J’ai pu quand même expérimenter les nuits chez les locaux grâce à une application assez sympa : Warmshower.

Retours d’expériences

Ce que j’ai apprécié

Une ville qui fut un coup de coeur : Salzbourg. Une magnifique métropole culturelle gorgée d’histoire, dont de grandes rues blanches sont bercées par la musique classique de celui qu’elles a vue naitre : le célèbre Mozart. Cernée par des Falaises et les Alpes, au coeur de la ville se dresse une ancienne forteresse du Moyen-Age qui permet d’apprécier toute la beauté de cette ville. Émerveillé par les grands espaces et les montagnes, certains endroits comme les Alpes Autrichiennes, les Vosges ou encore la Forêt Noire, furent des moments incroyables.

Les points que j’ai moins aimés

L’Allemagne en général. Le Covid n'a pas arrangé les choses, une ambiance légérement déshumanisée et stricte régnait dans les endroits où je suis passé. Et l’entraide n’était clairement pas à l’ordre du jour.

Souvenir le plus marquant

Je pensais que le moment le plus fort de mon voyage serait mon arrivée à Paris; mais il s'en est avéré autrement. Souvent les instants auxquels on ne s'attend pas sont ceux qui laissent les plus grandes traces dans nos mémoires.

Pour ce voyage, ce fut le passage de la frontière Française, près de Colmar. A la vue de ce panneau, qui m'annonçait mon retour en France. D'un coup, sans prévenir, toute la pression que je m'étais mise est redescendue. J'allais bientôt arriver au bout de mon voyage, et commencer à retrouver toutes les petites choses qui commençaient à me manquer. Durant ce court laps de temps, j'ai vécu des émotions intenses qui m'étaient encore inconnues. Pour ce moment unique, je ne regrette en aucun cas ce voyage.

  • Fr
  • /
  • En